Student Health Service

Loren Aloha

Administrative Assistant
laloha1@bsd.uchicago.edu


Joseph Asbury

Joseph Asbury, MD

Physician
Joseph.Asbury@uchospitals.edu

Education: BA from Cornell University; MD from University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine; Residency in Social Internal Medicine, Montefiore Medical Center

Professional Interests: General internal medicine, PrEP, substance abuse and recovery, collaborative clinical decision-making

Personal Interests: Cycling, running, photography, swimming (though it is oh so hard), bragging on my daughter, classic films, books

Languages Spoken: English


Holly Benjamin

Holly Benjamin, MD, FAAP, FACSM

Professor of Pediatrics, Orthopedic Surgery, and Rehabilitation Medicine; Director of Primary Care Sports Medicine
hbenjamin@bsd.uchicago.edu


Letitia Bennett

Licensed Practioner
Letitia.Bennett@uchospitals.edu


Natalie Benzon

Natalie Benzon, MS, WHNP

Nurse Practitioner
Natalie.Benzon@uchospitals.edu

Education: Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Illinois State University; Masters of Science in Nursing from Boston College; Board Certified Women’s Health Nurse Practitioner; Women’s Health Genomic Counseling Certification

Professional Interests: Providing counseling and education regarding all contraceptive methods, and sexual health screenings. Working with couples to complete infertility evaluations and pre-conception counseling. Genetic testing for hereditary cancer syndromes and well as pre-conception genetic screenings. Completed specialized training as a sexual assault nurse examiner and use these skills to meet the specialized health needs of those affected by sexual violence.

Personal Interests: I enjoy spending time with family and friends. I have two young sons who thankfully share my love for the New England Patriots.   

Languages Spoken: English


Nieshaa Berry

Clinic Coordinator
Nieshaa.Berry@uchospitals.edu


Glenis Brown

Glenis Brown

Licensed Practical Nurse
gbrown@uhs.bsd.uchicago.edu


Melissa Castillo

Clinic Coordinator
mcastillo1@uhs.bsd.uchicago.edu


Gomez Charleston

Gomez Charleston, MD, FACC

Physician
gcharleston@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Education: BA, Biology, from University of Chicago; MD from University of Chicago; Internship/Residency Internal Medicine, Michael Reese Hospital; Fellowship/Cardiology, Michael Reese Hospital

Professional Interests: Primary Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease in Adults

Personal Interests: Golf, Fishing/Boating, Attending Baseball Games, Biking, Cooking, Gardening

Languages Spoken: English


Marius Commodore, MD FACP

Medical Director, Student Health Service; Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine
mcommodore@uchicago.edu
T: 773.702.8446

Education: BS, BA from University of Michigan; MD from Emory University; Residency in Internal Medicine & Psychiatry, Rush University Medical Center

Professional Interests: General internal medicine, anxiety/depressive disorders, vaccine practices

Personal interests: Science fiction novels, jazz, independent bookstores, museums

Languages spoken: English


Jennifer Connor

Jennifer Connor, MSN, RN, CNMP

Director of Clincal Operations, Student Health Service
jconnor1@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu
T: 773.702.8446


Andrew Davis, MD, MPH, FACP

Physician
adavis@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

BA, Economics, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL

MHP, Occupational/Environmental Medicine, University of Illinois School of Public Health, Chicago, IL

MD, University of Chicago Pritzker of Medicine, Chicago, IL


Ashley Martin

Ashley Martin, MD

Physician; Clinical Associate of Family Medicine
amartin2@bsd.uchicago.edu

Dr. Martin is a board-certified Family Medicine physician who is dedicated to helping patients achieve optimal wellness, to feel well and to be well. Dr. Martin's  skill set and expertise include providing care for acute and chronic primary care issues for patients of all ages.

She completed her Family Medicine Residency at the Northwestern Memorial Program at St. Joseph Hospital in 2005. After completion of her Residency, Dr. Martin then completed a fellowship in Geriatric Medicine at Rush University Medical Center in 2006.  Dr. Martin also received certification in Integrative and Holistic Medicine.

Dr. Martin enjoys treating all patients and welcomes patient participation in mutual decision making regarding their care. Dr. Martin values the contribution patients offer in their medical care and working together for an individualized treatment care plan for each and every patient to meet their specific needs and achieve the best outcome.

Please do not use email for urgent or sensitive issues. Email is part of your medical record.

For urgent concerns, please seek evaluation at your nearest emergency room or call 911.


Lawrence Mcafee

Medical Assistant
lmcafee@bsd.uchicago.edu


Charlene Parham

Clinic Coordinator
parhamc@uchicago.edu


Debra Perry

Licensed Practical Nurse
Debra.Perry@uchospitals.edu


Debra Pienta

Debra Pienta

Registered Nurse
Debra.Pienta@uchospitals.edu


Velvet Price

Velvette Price

Phlebotomist
Velvet.Price@uchospitals.edu


Rebecca Pride

Rebecca Pride, APN

Nurse Practitioner

Education: BA from University of Maryland; BSN, MSN (Adult Nurse Practitioner) and Post-Master’s Certificate (Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner) from Rush University. Clinical Practicums at Rush, NorthShore Chapman Center (dual diagnosis program) and UChicago Medicine.  Fellow (2015-2016), MacLean Center for Clinical Medical Ethics at the University of Chicago; Fellow (1998-1999), the Albert Schweitzer Fellowship.

Professional interests: Providing holistic care to all patients, particularly those with overlapping medical and psychiatric problems.  Providing compassionate, accepting and confidential care to students using a shared-decision making framework. Treatment of patients facing potentially stigmatizing concerns including disordered eating, women’s health (sexual trauma, STIs, sexual dysfunction and infertility), substance use disorders as well as psychiatric medication management.

Personal Interests: Family time, gardening, travel, listening to podcasts, trying to learn Spanish

Languages Spoken: English


Latanjia Pryor

Latanjia Pryor, BSN-RN

Registered Nurse
Latanjia.Pryor@uchospitals.edu


Asha Quansah

Asha Quansah

Medical Assistant
equansah@bsd.uchicago.edu


Maricela Sandoval

Maricela Sandoval, MSN, FNP-BC

Nurse Practitioner
Maricela.Sandoval@uchospitals.edu

Education: Doctor of Nurse Practice from DePaul University; Master of Science in Nursing from DePaul; Bachelor in Science in Nursing from University of Illinois at Chicago; ANCC certified as Family Nurse Practitioner.  

Professional interests: Alcohol and drug use disorders.  Focus on alcohol with research project on alcohol use behaviors. Special interest in international students, especially those who are Spanish speaking since I am fluent in Spanish.

Personal interests: Traveling, biking, skating, gardening, spending time with family and friends.

Languages Spoken: English and Spanish


Emily Schimming

Emily Schimming, APN, FNP-BC

Nurse Practitioner
eschimming@bsd.uchicago.edu

BS, Nursing, University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, IL

MS, Nursing, University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, IL


Mikeyia Smith

Clinic Coordinator
Mikeyia.Smith@uchospitals.edu


Sierra Spikes

Medical Assistant
Sierra.Spikes@uchospitals.edu


Bernadette Taylor, RN, MSN, APN

Clinical Manager
btaylor32@bsd.uchicago.edu
T: 773.702.8446


Frederick White

Customer Service Supervisor
Frederick.White@uchospitals.edu


Dana Williams

Clinic Coordinator
dwilliams28@bsd.uchicago.edu


Tanisha Winston

Family Nurse Practitioner
tlwinston@uchicago.edu

Education: Master of Science in Nursing from Loyola University Chicago; Bachelor in Science in Nursing from Chicago State University; ANCC certified as a family nurse practitioner.

Professional Interests: Providing holistic and culturally sensitive care to patients. I am passionate about educating patients regarding their reproductive health.

Personal Interests: Spending quality time with family and friends, traveling to new places (internationally), and poetry.

Languages Spoken: English


Cheryl Woods

Customer Service Supervisor
Cheryl.Woods@uchospitals.edu


UChicagoSocial: SHCS